Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Constitution Day September 17, 1787

Constitution Day commemerates the day the Constitution was signed by those who wrote it at the Constitutional Convention in 1787.  It is also observed as citizenship day.  Schools generally provide education about the Constitution on this day.  Delaware was the first state to ratify the Constitution December 7 that same year.  In 1790 Rhode Island became the last of the original thirteen states to ratify.  George Washington became president in 1789.

No comments:

Post a Comment